The story of Sherwood Ridge Public School begins long before its first students walked through the gates. In 1883, Francis and Elizabeth Sherwood built Sherwood Cottage on a property located on Rosebery Road in Kellyville. Over a century later, in 2004, the school was established on this very land, and the local community chose the name Sherwood Ridge to honour the Sherwood family’s legacy.
Sherwood Ridge was one of 20 schools developed as part of the NSW Government's Public Private Partnership (PPP) initiative, built under a 30-year lease agreement to deliver modern educational facilities to growing communities.
Under the guidance of founding Principal Mrs Jan Marshall, the school opened with 10 classes and a dedicated Inclusion and Support Unit. From its earliest days, Sherwood Ridge has been built on a strong sense of community, a core school value that continues to shape our culture today.
Current Principal, Mrs Jody Sullivan is continuing the school’s strong tradition of leadership and student-centred learning. Sherwood Bear has joined the Sherwood Ridge family as the school’s beloved mascot.
As of 2025, Sherwood Ridge Public School proudly supports 25 classes, 70 staff and 585 students. Our student body reflects a rich and diverse mix of backgrounds.
From humble beginnings to today’s modern, purpose-built facilities, Sherwood Ridge Public School remains anchored in its core values of learning, respect, and community. Generations of students have left their mark on our school, and their legacy continues to shape our future.
background
dark
20th Anniversary Celebrations
(left) Members of the Sherwood family visiting our 20th Anniversary fete. (right) Colleen and Ken Sherwood presenting our school's history to Stage 2 students.
Newspaper articles
Sherwood Cottage
The old cottage was built in 1883 by Frank Sherwood and Jim Armstrong, who cut their own timber and built it out of slab and clay. There were four rooms, two of which had dirt floors.
The house belonged to Frank and Elizabeth Sherwood who moved their 12 children from Wrights Road, Kellyville, to their new home just after it was completed. Believed to be the first settlers of Rosebery Road, the Sherwood family owned 10 acres of land surrounding the cottage and maintained an orchard where they grew citrus and stone fruit.
It was located just behind the school’s Rosebery Road front gate entrance.
The cottage stood proud for 110 years until it was severely damaged in a storm leading to its partial collapse and demolition in 1993. It was the focus of an archaeological investigation in 2004 prior to the school being built.
All that remains today is the timber outline of its original footprint.
The archaeological site is listed and described in the Department of Education and Training Heritage and Conservation register (s170 register) .
All archaeological reports are lodged at the school, with copies forwarded to the Heritage Office, local Council and local library.
This archaeological site is put forward for listing on the State Heritage Register.
The memory of the home and the family who lived in it is preserved permanently in the name of the school, Sherwood Ridge Public School, which was officially opened in 2004.
background
light
Have a question for our principal or teachers?
Our friendly office team can help you get in touch.